All things encyclical

Update June 18: Pope Francis’ highly anticipated encyclical on creation and the environment, “Laudato Si,” has been released. Read it, and all the details, analysis and ongoing commentary, right here at thecatholicsun.com throughout the day.

Up next at 8:30 a.m. EST: Archbishop Joseph E. Kurtz of Louisville, Kentucky, president of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops, and Cardinal Donald W. Wuerl, archbishop of Washington, will discuss the encyclical at the National Press Club in Washington, DC. Watch it live on the USCCB blog or on Twitter via Periscope at @USCCB.

The day began at 5 a.m. EST (11 a.m. in Rome) with a news conference in the Vatican synod hall. The text was introduced by speakers including Cardinal Peter Turkson, president of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace, who worked on early drafts of the text; Metropolitan John of Pergamon, a noted Orthodox theologian and top aide to Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew of Constantinople, a leader in the Christian ecology movement; John Schellnhuber, founding director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research in Germany; and Dr. Carolyn Y. Woo, President & CEO of Catholic Relief Services. Watch a live stream at Vatican Radio.

“Laudato Si” was released officially at 6 a.m. EST (12 p.m. in Rome). Find it in several languages on the Vatican website.

 

 

Stay tuned!

Be the first to comment on "All things encyclical"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*